Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi everyone

i've gone and got myself a 1985 sierra 1.3 (with a 1.6 vitara motor)

i havent had it long, but it has had this whining noise the entire time, it starts at about 50km/h and just gets louder. it stops when i am off the throttle

it has a G16A mounted to a 1.3 gearbox going to a 1.0 transfer case (seems logical right :huh: ) aparently that was cause the previous owner couldnt get the 1.3 case to change gear

the odo has 268k on it but that dosent count for the engine and transfer (might not mean anything else either)

i was wondering if this noise is normal...ish and what it might be

the person doing the road worthy inspection muttered something about the transfer case when he was looking at it

thanks in advance

PS: be careful, it's my first time (with a zook and a forum :blink: )

·
Registered
80 Posts
add 85w gear oil in it and you may need a rubber hose to drip it in there. its about 5 bucks or a lil more depending on type of oil and store

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
add 85w gear oil in it and you may need a rubber hose to drip it in there. its about 5 bucks or a lil more depending on type of oil and store
thanks rey, sorry for the late reply

it took me ages to get the oil in it (i did my rear diff too) but the transfer case level wasnt too low :huh:

the gearbox level is fine :D

it got a little quieter then before, but it is still quite loud. it is less noticeible about 100kph and now it seems loudest at about 80kph

are sierra's notoriously loud inside, i think its only marginally quieter them my 1980 hilux that has a 2' exhaust and a free flow muffler

·
Registered
80 Posts