Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1995 Sidekick, 4 Door Hardtop, JLX 16 valve, Automatic with 4W Drive, manual hubs, 174,000 miles
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1995 Sidekick JLX, 16 valve, automatic with 4wd, currently 174000 miles. I am not a mechanic but I like to fix things on my cars if I can and I am pretty mechanical so I can fix quite a bit. I usually need to know where to start though and then get info to begin the process of fixing.

So, the issue I am having is that I found water in my oil. The vehicle still runs well, doesn't overheat, no warning lights, it does go through coolant... I haven't seen white smoke out of the tail pipe, the radiator doesn't overflow when started or shoot coolant out when hot.

If anyone can direct me to a current forum regarding this type of issue or give me information about where to start looking to determine where my coolant leak is I would appreciate it.

Thank you,
Ken

·
Registered
1991 Hardtop 3-door Tracker 1.6L 4WD 5-Speed No A/C
243 Posts
Hello. This is the right place to ask. It's not an unusual problem, but more information would help. How long has this been happening? How did you determine there is "water" in the oil? If there is "water" in the oil it could do serious damage. What color coolant do you use? When did you last change your oil. Give us all the info you can.
A common leak is in the head gasket, especially with older cars with high mileage. I've done it once, but it's not a simple job. It involves removing the top of the engine. You'll need more than a repair manual. The replacement gasket is cheap, but the cylinder head needs to be checked for flatness, and frequently "flattened" at a machine shop -- not so cheap.
You'll hear from other members soon about what to check first, before determining it must be the head gasket.

·
Registered
8,798 Posts