Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I decided to write this up here to document for in case anyone has similar issues.

I bought a 2013 SX4 JA FWD CVT @ 144.000km for my daughter a few weeks ago and the seller has been less than stellar/honest to be frank...

It's my fault though, I should've known from the looks of the place that the car was going to be sold "as is" even though they are a used car lot. To say the place looked drab is an understatement. That and the first thing the salesman said to me was: "This car is AWD you know?" To which I replied: "No it's not... " and he insisted until I showed him the lack of transfer case and rear diff. Also the lack of AWD button inside the car kind of gave it away.

That and the "no AWD badge..."

Disclaimer: I'm not a mechanic, but I know my way around an engine bay, car underside, etc. My skill level is at the point where I can perform oil changes, serpentine belt, fix minor issues, replace brake rotors, pads, calipers. One time I changed the timing belt on an EJ25 Subaru. Another time I changed the valve cover and spark plug seals on that same EJ25 engine. Oh and I changed a heater core on a 1993 Sidekick - I posted that here but for the life of me I can't get logged back in using that user name. Just remove the 2 from after my user name here and you should get an idea.

So at the test drive I didn't notice anything out of the ordinary, I did a summary inspection of the car and it checked out. Carfax stated accident front right side. Had been repaired - properly - frame is straight and the car drove straight. Engine fluids were correct and underside was clean with practically no visible rust anywhere.