Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 20 of 134 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First, you need to know that I am a computer programmer in the Air Force. I am not a mechanic. However, since I am enlisted in the Air Force, married, 6 kids ... I do a lot of my own work on my cars. :)

My Transmission Range Sensor recently went bad on me. So, I replaced it. However, the information on what to buy, where to get it, how much it cost, how to replace it ... it's everywhere. I created the attached PDF to make it easier on the next person.

Remember ... not an expert ... just someone who successfully replaced the Transmission Range Sensor on a 2006 Suzuki Forenza.

FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO ARE UNABLE TO DOWNLOAD THE PDF - try this link:
http://bit.ly/ForenzaTRS

Donald

Attachments

·
Registered
1 Posts
Transmission Range Sensor

I installed a new TRS on my 06 Forenza yesterday following your directions and it worked out great. Thanks.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Thanks for the write up it's very straight forward. At least now I know what that part looks like. My 07 Forenza started showing signs of this issue for about a week now. Funny thing is if turn the car off, place the tranny back in park, then start the car after a few seconds the issue goes away for a day or two. Time to replace it before the anything else goes wrong.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
JimmyZ89 ... the symptoms you list there are common when the TRA is going bad. It will continue to be working and then not working. Sometimes, it will not reset just by turning it off and back on. Sometimes, it will need to sit longer.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Being that it's an eletrical issue, if you turn the car off completely, I've notice, even the head light and your foot off the brake and then turn the car back on it works good for the rest of the ride or sometimes for a few minutes.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
ginny1214 - Stuck in Park