Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The pros and cons of having CAT, 96' Sidekick Sport 1.8l?? The reason I ask is because the cat starts corroded. Do I need to find one to replace or do I need to put the strait pipe in place of it?? So far I have never seen the code related to this cat!! Nobody inspects the smog here.

·
Super Moderator
23,846 Posts
While I may be wrong, the only code that I would know of at the cat would be the code for the rear O2 sensor that is at the cat, that compares exhaust values with the O2 that is on the exhaust manifold. Frankly, I’ve been driving without a cat for about 15 years, with no issues. I just have a muffler on the car.

·
Super Moderator
12,353 Posts
A 91 Tracker is a very different vehicle to a 96 Sidekick Sport.

First - and possibly most important - the 91 will be OBDi with a single O2 sensor to provide closed loop feedback to the EFI system, the 96 will be OBDii, and as such will have two O2 sensors, one for feedback and the other to monitor the cat efficiency - removing the cat will more than likely trigger a P0420 code.

On OBDi vehicles, removing the cat typically causes few problems, the exhaust note might be a little louder, a little more annoying, OBDii vehicles are not so forgiving.

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
While I may be wrong, the only code that I would know of at the cat would be the code for the rear O2 sensor that is at the cat, that compares exhaust values with the O2 that is on the exhaust manifold. Frankly, I’ve been driving without a cat for about 15 years, with no issues. I just have a muffler on the car.
Thanks. Without running cat, do you get smell behind the car when at idle??

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
A 91 Tracker is a very different vehicle to a 96 Sidekick Sport.