Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello gentleman and ladies, hold out for my novel to explain all this.

To introduce myself, I'm a semi-amateur mechanic. I've done all my own repair work since high school and am comfortable doing clutches, headgaskets, etc. I don't know everything and am still learning quite a bit as I fix more things. I have plenty of tools to do almost any job on passenger cars.

I have a 1996 Geo tracker 5 speed, 4wd, 1.6L 16v with 181,xxx miles. Owned for 9 years, bought with 135,000 miles. It's been super reliable until now.

For the past few months, I've noticed an ever so slight stumble with acceleration from a dead stop. I haven't thought much of it until now. I've also noticed that my fuel mileage is a little lower than normal lately (~22 - 24 mpg), but I've just attributed this to the cold winter months. Last summer my mpg was around 28 mpg. The steady misfire problem came on all of a sudden; one morning after startup it had issues and I've been trying to solve it ever since. Currently my car is barely drivable.

These are the codes it's throwing
P0304 (cylinder 4 misfire detected) -- At times this was flashing the check engine light at me while I was getting it home (I know it's bad).
P0420 (catalytic converter below threshold) -- Had this code since the day I bought it.
It had the EGR code awhile back, but it's cleaned now and hasn't come back.

**Symptons**
-idles and runs just fine on cold start and for the first ~4 minutes of run time
-after ~4 minutes of run time, cylinder #4 has a steady misfire when running at idle and below ~1500 rpm
-will run much smoother in neutral above ~1500 rpm
-heavy misfire on acceleration at all rpm ranges while driving.

**Diagnosis done**
-replace spark plugs
-replace distributor cap (got the wrong rotor from the store so it was not replaced)
-test fuel pressure (was good @~38psi, and held steady for 5 minutes for leakdown-no leaks)