Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,
My speedometer in my Suzuki Sierra SJ413 1.3 recently decided to break. I have purchased the speedo cable, but unfortunately i have never done anything like this before :confused:. Could anyone give me a detailed description of what to do, or even a link which gives me a guide which i could follow.

Thanks

·
Registered
16 Posts
speedometer cable

ok this is it first you have to remove your dashboard mine for example has four screws in the front panel so it's easy to remove when done you'll find rigth behind the speedometer the plug. dissconect it and follow it trough your cockpit it goes from the dashboard all the way down the corner of the driverside just below the driver seat it goes out of the cockpit and goes below the chassis it continues on to the gearbox there you'll find the second plug thas is attached to the gearbox with another screw unplug it and then replace with the new one starting from the gearbox (don't forget to secure it again or it will get loose due to reving) and make it trough the way you just followed plug it again to the dash and replace the dash into position and you are done. In my case I needed to remove my steering wheel in order to remove the dashboard I'll try to post some photos so you can identify parts :cool:

·
Registered
13 Posts
you may have to remove the steering wheel. I had to replace mine at 120K and was real careful prying the dask console instead of removing the steering wheel. Ken

·
Registered
66 Posts
Cable Lube Question

I replaced the speedo cable on our 87 last month. Beforehand I removed the new cable and lubed it as I slid it in the sleeve with the supplied tube of grease.

It works but the speedometer needle pulses under 40 and I hear the cable clicking inside the dash. Could I have over-lubricated? Of course it’s cold here.