Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Samurai world and recently purchased an '88. It is already lifted with 31 inch tires and I want to re-gear the transfer case. The problem is that I am bit intimidated to take on the task myself. I do all the work on my vehicles but have never messed with drive shafts, gearing or anything of the such. Is there any shop in the San Diego area, besides petroworks, to do the change out if I order the gears online? (Petroworks is out of the gears and wants $500 bucks to do the swap out if I bring in my own parts.)

If I decide to do it myself, do I need a press, is it difficult???

Any help would be VERY appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
173 Posts
Hope This Helps

I too am interested in installing my own gears and being a good mechanic but never did gearing so i kept looking around and want to go with the 6.5 to 1 gearing with stock rears and 29" tires. To me it looks pretty straight forward and not too complicated
Hope this helps.... let me know what you think.
Joe

Trail Creeper 6.5 Samurai Gear Instructions

·
Registered
278 Posts
Not an terribly tough job.
Any transmission shop could do it for you. Hell call AMCO.
Lowrainge will have the gears for you.
6.50-1 gears are pretty tall for 29" tires...That is , unless you like the slow, slow lane.
...Boxcar...

·
Registered
173 Posts
Not an terribly tough job.
Any transmission shop could do it for you. Hell call AMCO.
Lowrainge will have the gears for you.
6.50-1 gears are pretty tall for 29" tires...That is , unless you like the slow, slow lane.
...Boxcar...