Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I've been reading threads on loss of power etc and am a bit lost. Hope someone could help me walk through my issue...

Sami has been driving great... then while in 3rd, it sputtered and I lost a lot of power. Had to down shift and sorta limped home. Now I have to rev it up a lot to get it going in first, there is an almost stall moment when going into second etc. And driving around, the RPM is super high just to get it going.

It idles and starts just fine. Clutch doesn't feel like it's slipping. New fuel filter. New fuel lines. So I am guessing somewhere in the carburetor but I am a total carburetor noob.

Can someone advise or point in me in the right direction? I've been pouring through the manual and Haynes guide... but no luck.

·
Registered
5,702 Posts
1: what model and year?

2: toss the Haynes manual as far as you can. I find them to be about the same level as the chiltons ones, which is near on useless and very misleading in a lot of cases.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ha. Yes. It's been very difficult to understand that manual.

It's an 87 Suzuki Samurai with the stock 1.3 engine... ~ 130K mi. Stock everything.

Other things to note in the last 2 years... new muffler and cat, new distrb cap, wires and spark. All fluids changed earlier this year (transmission, transfer, engine, diff). It was running like a top before this.

And the other thing is... it was under strain up a pretty steep hill, which I've gone over plenty of times, that the Sami stuttered and lost power.

Thanks... been poking around all morning with no luck. Fearing will have to go into a shop tomorrow.

·
Registered
5,702 Posts