Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I just got my first samurai, (ive been driving jeeps for 10 years)
88 1.3 carbed.

Anyways about what rpm do you guys shift and cruise at?

I was pulling 3000 rpms going 50mph, it just feels weird to me to cruise above 3K.

·
Registered
137 Posts
Hi I have a samurai 1987 and I rebuild my engine but everything is stock and makes 45m/h at 2200-2300 rpm and is making 22 miles/gallon ,(not so good) I being tell that you can get like 30M/G,this is a small engine so the rpm it will go higer than a bigger engine

·
Registered
5 Posts
I know it's strange to drive a vehicle that revs so high just driving down the highway, but that's normal for the Sami. If you hit around 70 mph you'll see the rpm's come close to 4000. Gas mileage, I get between 20 and 22. I don't think 30 is possible; for the amount of horses it has, it is heavy, it's got all the 4WD stuff, and it's just not designed to be a fuel-efficient engine. But I can tell you that the exhaust system and air intake system are limiting factors to performance. The cat has lots of backpressure and they are known to clog. Freeing up the exhaust system and enlarging the exhaust pipe diameter will help with power and gas mileage. A different air intake system will help a bit, too. The 3 most significant improvements I've made to my 88 Sami to gain horses and acceleration (quite noticeable) are: (1) 2" exhaust pipes, straight-thru muffler, and high-flow cat, (2) Bosch platinum spark plugs, and (3) an Accel high output coil.:D

·
Registered
201 Posts
to gain horses and acceleration (quite noticeable) are: (1) 2" exhaust pipes, straight-thru muffler, and high-flow cat, (2) Bosch platinum spark plugs, and (3) an Accel high output coil.:D

a header helps as well. but honestly i think the addition of the 2 in exhaust was the best bang for the buck

(oh and BTW i don't have a cat, not by my design - was missing when i got my sami)

·
Registered