Suzuki Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. Newbie here. I've got a 3 door 2004 Grand Vitara which I've owned since new. To date the vehicle has been super reliable, it even runs the original clutch. Being Down Under, the vehicle is right hand drive. I have a minor electrical issue with the indicators. The rear passenger side indicator lamp no longer has any voltage, so I'm assuming that the wiring loom has some sort of break between that point and the front side guard indicator globe, which is working fine. The drivers side indicators globes all work perfectly. What I'm wondering is how do you remove the wiring loom on the passenger side of the vehicle so as to inspect it and discover where the break in the cable is? Or do you guys suggest simply running another cable to the rear connector which I believe can be found where the tyre jack is? How would a person go about doing that (like where is the easiest point to begin and end that replacement wire?) Dunno, but I'd appreciate any advice. Chris

·
Administrator
18,333 Posts
Get in the car and starting at the back passenger side, remove the interior paneling, the door sill plate and the passenger side kick panel - follow the harness up over the wheel arch and along the edge of the carpet.

Do NOT attempt to remove the harness from the vehicle - follow the wire based on insulation color and backprobe each connector until you find where the voltage is lost - that will give you an idea of where the break is (it's likely to be a corroded connector).

If I recall correctly, Australian models have the turn signals in the rear bumper, and that cable comes out the left side and runs across with connectors behind the lamps - that's where my initial focus would be.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi fordem,