Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm a Suzuki newbie and recently bought a 2002 grand vitara 2.0l 16v. It's only covered 60k miles and engine wise it runs sweet as nut. I'm really impressed with the simple layout of the engine and looking forward to at least 2-3years of trouble free motoring hopefully.

The problem I am having with it however is a loud ticking/ knocking noise coming from somewhere near the rear of vehicle . It almost sounds like something is rubbing.

It gets quicker the quicker I go and slows down as I do, even when I'm crawling at around 10-15mph it still ticks. It's not the gearbox because it still does it when I freewheel in neutral and it's nothing to do with the brakes because it doesn't change in sound or frequency when the pedal is pressed. I can only think it's coming from the rear diff somewhere?

Can anyone advise? Right now I'm considering buying a complete new axle assembly from the breakers yard as it doesn't seem that difficult a job to replace?

·
Registered
99 Tracker, 5 door, 2L, 4x4
10,255 Posts
Location, location, location.... Hmmmm!

Have you pulled and checked the driveline??

.... Philip

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
How do you mean pulled and checked? You'll have to forgive me as I'm only an amateur mechanic lol!

Is there a procedure to follow

·
Super Moderator
18,422 Posts
As in...pulled the drive-shaft and checked for smooth operating U-joints. Binding or slop can cause noise.

Raised the vehicle and spun / checked each wheel by hand looking for noise or losseness (axle bearings)?

Spun the rear differential input (pinion shaft) checking for same?

Checked the tires and rim for imbedded foreign debris or tire lumps (ply separation)?

And you can't entirely rule out the brakes even though the noise persists with application.