Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I have a Suzuki Grand Vitara 2006.
My check engine light turns on and off intermittently for the last 2 years. Basically, I have ignored it thinking its just some faulty wire because why would it turn on and off like that? It is annoying because I can't use cruise control when a cop is behind me. The code readout is 'P6231' and supposedly that means 'Pumping Sensor' . I looked all over this forum and spent some time digging on the web but I can't find out what that really means. If I don't have to take my car into the dealer or a mechanic that would be great! Is there something I can order online or check on the vehicle to get that situation solved? Any advice you can give would be really helpful. I am not a mechanic but I am very technical and have no fear of digging into the guts of the machine to get to the root of an issue.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,054 Posts
I was trying to figure out what engine you have and what country you live in (since you didn't tell us) but since you mentioned the cop I'm guessing you must be in the US!

It doesn't help that P6231 doesn't show up in the manual, nor anywhere else for that matter.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Must be the wrong code they gave me :(

Hello, thanks for your reply.

I am guessing they gave me the wrong code in that case. The description they gave me when they ran the diagnostic was " Pumping Sensor " - P6231

I guess I will have to order one of those online testing devices myself or take it into a quick and easy auto parts store to diagnose the 'ACTUAL' code. I never know what to believe when people mess with my car, it always usually ends up in me being frustrated.

And yes, I am in America. COP CENTRAL.

Thanks , I guess I will have to get back to you with more reliable information. :(

·
Registered
1,054 Posts