Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm tired of working on this vehicle as I am NOT a mechanic... it's a mystery :rolleyes: ...

So, I am looking for someone in the Redding, CA or Eureka, CA area that knows his or her stuff that takes on work at a reasonable rate.

I have starting/throttle/fuel-air issues with my 1989 Geo Tracker 1.6L 8V 4x4.

New stuff:
newly rebuilt injector
new throttle positioning sensor
new Throttle Fuel Pressure Regulator
new throttle cable + new kickdown cable (both were frayed and a mess)

Problems:
1. random starting... sometimes won't start or rather starts, then floods out
2. If starts and runs... does just fine, especially now that cables are new
3. NEW PROBLEM NOTICED: While checking for gas on spark plugs, tried cranking with plugs out and fuel squirts out massively from the #2 cylinder (not sure if this is new behavior or not, never tried this technique before)

Has:

spark
fuel
no CEL codes returned other than 12 or 21 (not sure which it is, but I think 12)

This has been ongoing since last Dec, with random good/bad results in terms of starting and running... no smoke, good fuel mileage, good gettyup and go, even uphill.

Compression tested fine but that was before the gas squirting out cylinder being noticed. Previous looks at spark plugs when it acted flooded showed all 4 plugs being wet... now #2 squires and the plug is wet, but the others are dry.

I am at my wits end and live 2 1/2 -3 hours from the nearest major town (any town really) So... I am desperately looking for a nearish mechanic who is A) fully knowledgeable; B) has all the right tools and experience on Suzuki/Geo Sidetracks; C) will start AND FINISH the job; and D) is reasonable in pricing for labor.

Thank God for rockauto and trailtough for parts.

Anyone? :eek: :eek: please? :rolleyes:

pm me or text at 7074709781...

Donna

·
Registered
4,357 Posts