Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I had a person try to move my 2008 Suzuki Grand Vitara 5 speed manual. I think they have tried to hard to jam the gear shifter into reverse and possibly bend something inside. It will not go into reverse anymore. The clutch and hydraulics are just fine. The vehicle was working just fine before and very easy to get into reverse. All forward gears shift ok. Is it possible that a shift fork could be bent? If so does anyone have a 2008 service manual?

I am new to this forum. I am a former Nissan Technician now teacher in Canada.

·
Registered
167 Posts
First thread (sticky) in the forum has a link to the complete set of JB manuals.

Cheers
Wes

·
Registered
1,840 Posts
It sounds really odd.

I can not possibly imagine that it would be possible to bend a shift fork. How would one be able to do that, without causing some other visible damage to the car?

Can you shift into ANY other gear from neutral, while the engine is running? (clutch depressed)

·
Registered
1,054 Posts
Looking at the manual page 5B-6 I think you will need to disassemble the shifter mechanism on top of the tranny unit. Unfortunately that is likely to require removing the tranny from the vehicle.

·
Registered
787 Posts
Here are the some pages from the section on the manual transmission, showing the layout of the shift forks (including page 5B-6). I agree with Kiwi, if something is bent or broken in the shift mechanism, its a big job to get to it. If you send me your email, I'll send you the whole section on the manual transmission.

·
Registered
271 Posts
What happens exactly when you try to put it in reverse?
Does the shifter appear to move fully across to the left?
Does it still go into 5th?
Is there any grinding?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
transmission help