Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Folks, I have been reading here for over a week, now. I got to page 45 in this forum. I am new to Suzuki Samurais, I was a VW Type I enthusiast for several years, then got out of the car hobby, family, job, etc. This past Friday I paid $1800 for a stock 1988 SJ413. My new top should be here this Friday. Weber 34/34 should be here, today, Shift sheet and bolt kit from Petroworks should be here Friday, also. I will order the Thorley exhaust next week. Also going to purchase a used 1.3 or 1.6 for a rebuild, might also get a tranny and transfer case. I have been reading and searching on lift kits. My intended use is daily-driver with some logging road, light trail riding with my 9 year old this spring/summer. I am also looking at the various fiberglass hard tops. I will be posting and participating as this project takes shape, lots of knowledgeable folks on here. I may need the most assistance with body/metal work. The rockers are trashed(rust) and the rear quarters are eaten up. I would like to take it down the metal, weld it up, sand, prime and paint. I don't need the tallest lift, maybe 2" and I'd like to get the best ride I can. I think if I can get 80 to 90 BHP, I should be able to drive the highways without much trouble. I think the Harley(Keihin) 44mm CV will be for the newly rebuilt, Weber should suffice on the old engine. I am just looking for recommendations based on experiences and some guidance/recommendations for battling rust on these little jeeps.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I also meant to add that I have bookmarked Ack's FAQ site, tons of great info in there!!! I'll try to post up some before pics and track progress, here.

·
Registered
1,230 Posts
Awesome! I have welder envy... so that's really cool in my book that you have the option of fabricating stuff for your rig. Pretty much all my stuff is bolt on.