Suzuki Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I just picked up a '91 2dr 4wd tracker in pretty solid condition. The guy said the transmission had been rebuilt within 20K miles, and the vehicle has a total of 136K on it.
That being said, I have a few questions.

1) It seems somewhat loud and throaty... hole in the exhaust system? Also, when I let off the acceleration I smell a exhaustish oily smell... could this also be due to a possible hole?

2) I looked after I drove it an hour home (smooth enough, handled great) and it seems like the driveshaft running from the transmission is oily... is this normal? I don't think it would be.

This is my first vehicle, but I'm a handy engineering student with several friends who have finished automotive school... So I'm pretty confident I can get any issues fixed.

·
Registered
99 Tracker, 5 door, 2L, 4x4
11,239 Posts
First, repair the leaking exhaust, before you suffocate yourself..

Second, No the drive shaft should not be oily, locate the leak, it could be blow back from a leak forward....

..... Philip

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Is pulling the exhaust system much of a pain? I tried searching, but couldn't find anything. It's dark outside now, but I'll look at it in the morning.

·
Super Moderator
25,542 Posts
Congrats on your purchase!! You have the same car as I do, and, if you care for it, it will last you a lifetime (as long as you are not in the rust belt).