Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi folks,

i'm having a hard time deciding between buying the Suzuki Jimny AUTO and the Jimny MANUAL. Main question is, which one will provide better OFFROAD PERFORMANCE ? or are they both the same ?

i'm an old fashioned driver i guess, i still think that manual transmissions ( as opposed to auto ) give the car a little bit power and the driver a little bit more control ( u can drag gears and so on ) . does this translate into better offroad performance compared to the AUTO version ?

i am not experienced with offroad driving, so i would appreciate any advice from u experts out there. i plan to take my Jimny offroad every once in a while but not too serious stuff...

thanks,

david.

·
Registered
270 Posts
Hi David

I cannot speak from experience on the Jimny, but on Vitara 1.6, and GV2.0 the auto wins for me. I have never seen one stall on the difficult Rhino Club off-road meets - but I've seen many manuals stall! Can be "interesting" when it happens half way up a 1 in 3 drag.

That virtual impossibility to stall the auto gives me confidence in traffic on the road. Hence I now always specify auto when changing my Suzuki 4x4 - possibly the most cost effective good fun value on the road.

Try an auto and enjoy.

beancounter

·
Registered
44 Posts
Go for a manual, You get better engine braking with a manual. As you do not want to be using your brakes going down hill. :eek:

Bob

·
Registered
10 Posts
i came across this post somewhere......in another forum.guess qsgoo7o must have gotten some enlightenment already over which gearbox suits him.

my reply is simple, so long as you enjoy the Jimny it doesnt matter which gearbox you are on, doll her up or build her for the tough terrian!

INkcredible
"why control only two wheels when you can have all four?"

·
Registered
3,805 Posts
Originally posted by MR INKCREDIBLE@Dec 30 2004, 10:43 AM