Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Title pretty much says it all.

I'm just wondering if a standard tune Harley CV carb install (40mm) is more/less thirsty than the 1990 factory carburetor? What figures would we be talking, or will it be much of a muchness?

I'm looking to improve on my current 12 kms per litre economy - factory claims are 25mpg... which is around 9.5km/L. The CV carby is wrapped as more efficient alternative - should I 'expect' or 'hope' for better mileage from this easy mod?

Obviously driving style has a lot to do with things, but if I could get 400kms (250 miles) outta one tank of fuel i'd be wrapped.

·
Premium Member
1,862 Posts
In a word... yes.
I did two CV conversions, each with 44mm HD Screamin Eagles and they both raked in a clear 30mpg. The power and throttle response was also overwhelming. Going HD will always get my vote.

·
Registered
201 Posts
i have no experience with this, but i would say it comes down to how u drive. if you have a lead foot, probably not. the fuel efficiency probably comes down to not having to push the accelerator in as far to make it go.
as i said i have no experience with this sort of thing, but to me that seems logical

·
Registered
160 Posts
In a word... yes.
I did two CV conversions, each with 44mm HD Screamin Eagles and they both raked in a clear 30mpg. The power and throttle response was also overwhelming. Going HD will always get my vote.
Can you expand on this a little more? What carb(s) did you install? What is "CV" and "HD"?

·
Registered
1,230 Posts
HD is harley Davidson
CV is constant velocity