Suzuki Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1995 Suzuki Sidekick 4x4MT, I am putting a 2006 PT Cruiser Body on the drivetrain. I started the project last March during COVID when I had a few weeks of time off. It has been sitting for many months now and I'm trying to get it going. Let me preface the post with the fact that I'm not a mechanic but am somewhat mechanically inclined. The internet is definitely my crutch. I had completely pulled the wiring harness and cut the firewall and cobbled it into the PT Body (first time ever welding, LOL). Anyway, here's my situation and I'm hoping some of you guys can help me out. I tried to gather anything that looked like a ground wire and grounded it to the chassis. I plugged everything in that I thought was needed except no front or rear lighting, dash speedo, and dash blower system. Those are not hooked up. Upon first attempt to start here's my results:

1. Fuel Pump pressurizes and there's fuel at the rail
2. I pulled the spark plug closest to the front of the engine and there is spark
3. The vehicle starts right up with a Starting fluid in the airbox

I smelled the funky smell of burning electronics and opened up my ECU (33920-70EA0). It appears that R221 is burned. Internet searching tells me this is related to the check engine light.

Anyway, I bought one of the NOID Tester kits at Harbor Freight and plugged it on. I get no resulting lights from cranking. There is only 5v at the first injector.

I have a 1994 model as well so I pulled the computer and plugged it in and got the same results. The 1994 model will start and run with either computer plugged into it. There is 12v at the first injector on the 94 model and the NOID tester lights up.