Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys.

I've just bought a 1999 Grand Vitara and this is my first 4x4, so I'm no expert on these vehicles.

On the motorway on the way home it started shaking pretty violently when I got to about 60mph. It didn't matter if I slowed down or sped up; the shaking was still there. My initial thought was that it was a severe wheel balance problem, but the weird thing is that the shaking suddenly stopped and I drove at speeds of up to 80 mph for a good 30 minutes afterwards with no further problems.

I then left the motorway and drove for a few minutes on slower roads without incident, then when I got back on to another motorway the shaking started again, but didn't last long on this occasion.

I'm a bit bewildered to be honest. I've never known violent shaking to come and go like that. All I know is that a couple of ball joints were an advisory on the last MOT.

Any ideas?

·
Super Moderator
13,691 Posts
I'd start by balancing the wheels.

·
Registered
522 Posts
I'm going to take a wild guess here because fordem already mentioned the obvous but it could quite possibly be your front brake caliper sticking. The only way to prove this would be to immediatly pull over and very, very carefully check your 2 front wheels and see if your rims/hub is extremely hot.

·
Registered
1,489 Posts
I wouldn't drive it again until I checked the lugnuts to be sure they haven't loosened up.

·
Registered
99 Tracker, 5 door, 2L, 4x4
10,255 Posts
Do you feel the shake in the steering wheel or your seat??

... Philip

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I'm going to take a wild guess here because fordem already mentioned the obvous but it could quite possibly be your front brake caliper sticking. The only way to prove this would be to immediatly pull over and very, very carefully check your 2 front wheels and see if your rims/hub is extremely hot.