Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello team,

English is my third language, my apologies in advance for any grammatical errors you may encounter ahead. This is Tony, I just picked this USA '97 Geo Tracker, 16 valve engine, auto trans, 4wd model, with 144k miles, AC and PS, removable fiberglass hardtops. This is my very first time owning a Geo Tracker (or Sidekick), am trying to bring it back to its glory. I picked it up for a decent price (in the local market of Florida, that is), certainly knowing of a few things that will need fixed.

I have numbered the different items I'd like to discuss about (as of today) from 1 to 10, feel free to start whichever item you'd like to add on by referencing the number item. I hope this makes sense.

1. I removed what was left of the speedometer cable last night, very easy job. Previous owner stated a horrible nose started to come from behind the instrument cluster, so he disconnected it and zip-tied it on the engine bay. I bought the car with no speedometer or odometer reading. The old man that owned it seemed honest enough to tell me he only drove it like this less than 10k miles, therefore the car should be sitting somewhere under 150k miles. The route it followed was the following: being zip-tied near the brake fluid reservoir, to the passenger side of the firewall behind the valve cover, then down towards the floor, then along the passenger frame rail and finally to the transfer case. (see pictures of the cable).
1. I need to know with certainty, Rockauto sells two different models of speedometer cables for the '97 Geo Tracker. I believe the one I require to replace is the ATP Y893. See pictures of what is left of my speedometer cable, it measures a bit over 100" long altogether.