Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all.

Im new to all this, so.please excuse the no doubt silly question.

I have a 2000 Grand Vitara. I have been offered some fat boy wheels with 255 tyres.

Any ideas what fitment will be like?

Many thanks in advance.

Bazza.

·
Registered
2,100 Posts
What's the full size specs of the tyre? eg. 255/50R16...255/60R16...etc. What is the offset and width of the rim?

Tono is running a significantly larger diameter tyre- which is what is causing problems in that instance. With the right offset rims- and a tyre diameter similar to the stock 235/60R16- I don't see why they wouldn't fit. Remember you only need 10mm extra clearance each side of the tyre. ;)

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have no idea to be honest. Its a cheap set off ebay. No further details.

Ive found set that are 195 60 15s so collecting them puppies friday. Bit slimmer than my 225 but long as it passes mot that'll do me.

·
Registered
2,100 Posts
Ive found set that are 195 60 15s so collecting them puppies friday. Bit slimmer than my 225 but long as it passes mot that'll do me.
Whoa! Have you done any calculations on the size difference between 195/60R15 and the stock tyres?

I assume the stock size your GV would have come from the factory with would be 235/60R16 (or equivalent diameter with narrower tread) those 195/60R15 tyres are far too small in diameter for your GV. (See the attached file.) It's possible they may not have the required load rating too. I noticed you mention passing an MOT, depending on the rules where you live that size change could be illegal... it is where I live.

On another note, have you also checked the offset, PCD (bolt pattern) and centre hub diameter of the rims? Even if they're correct you may have issues with brake clearance with a 1" smaller diameter rim.

·
Premium Member
36 Posts
Suggestion