Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When our engine is under heavy load we get this strange vibration. It appears to be exhaust related but it's not blowing or anything like that. Has anyone any experience of this please?

·
Registered
8,409 Posts
With such little information, how would you like us to respond??

Check the exhaust for excessive back pressure...>2psi @ 2000rpm is N/S

... Philip

·
Registered
8,409 Posts
first test:
Remove B1S1 O2,
start engine,
is shake/rattle still evident?

second test:
use adapter and connect a low pressure gauge to exhaust O2,
start engine,
read psi @ idle,
read psi @2000rpm.

If the back pressure is in spec, more investigation in order

... Philip

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sorry Philip. I am a 75 year old layman. Remove B1S1 O2. Means nothing to me. Thanks for your help tho. It only happens when you put you foot down and it's uphill or similar.
Bri

·
Registered
8,409 Posts
Sorry Philip. I am a 75 year old layman. Remove B1S1 O2. Means nothing to me. Thanks for your help tho. It only happens when you put you foot down and it's uphill or similar.
Bri
I am your junior by 3yrs, congrats.. slow down and wait for me! :rolleyes:

B1S1 O2 = the O2 sensor(oxygen sensor) closest to the engine, Bank1, sensor1..

Your symptoms are either a collapsed CAT converter(makes it into a dog) :eek:, or a low flow fuel pump..causing a misfire.

.... Philip

·
Registered
6 Posts
Hi Bri,

do you have an Alto with the lower emission engine? if you do then it's a design fault with the exhaust. If this noise is most noticeable in wet and sometimes even cold weather then that's the problem, Suzuki know about it and will do nothing to solve it. I wrote to them on behalf of some owners who were experiencing the same symptoms but Suzuki aren't interested and don't accept it's a problem, very disappointing attitude.