Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HELLO GUYS!!

I am new here and have a HUGE problem with my epica 2008 2.5L. all days when I'm trying to start the engine, rev goes up to 4000 RPM and stay on it for more than 40 seconds!.
After that, the rev goes down but not to normal idle (700-800), the revs up & down continuously from 1000 to 1300 until Drive or Reverse is selected. Once the gear shift is returned to Park, idle revolution stays near "normal".
if engine is cool (first attemp to start) rev goes up to 4000 RPM.
once engine is warm, the engine starts and mantain this behavior above described.

please check the video.zip file attached

sorry for my bad english!! :cool:

·
Premium Member
1,319 Posts
Hry franklin,
welcome to the forum.

Very strange indeed!

I have no experience with your car and can only guess.
If I was going attempt to isolate it, you mentioned that after it warms continues to act up?

Best of luck and your English is fine.

Don

^_^

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks a lot Don for fast response!.

In fact, once the chevrolet epica reach the "normal" temp range, the issue disapears, but i am afraid that the crankshaft can suffer in all starting attemps due all the oil engine remains in the oil pan before it start.

Could the Mass Air Flow (MAF) sensor sending a wrong info to the ECU??, and therefore the ECU try to start the engine in a higher idle rev??. is there a procedure that I can follow in order to test by myself the MAF?

·
Premium Member
1,319 Posts
I think I read advice that Darrel had given for that.

I was wondering if the temperature sensor could be giving incorrect information.

Don

^_^

·
Registered
268 Posts
Could the Mass Air Flow (MAF) sensor sending a wrong info to the ECU??, and therefore the ECU try to start the engine in a higher idle rev??. is there a procedure that I can follow in order to test by myself the MAF?