Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I am fairly new to DIY stuff, but am determined. Can someone advise how I replace the spark plugs in my GV. Like specifically do I need a ratchet extension? If so what length? Also, what size socket do I need to remove the spark plug and how tight should I put the new ones in?

Any insight is greatly apprecaited

·
Super Moderator
13,894 Posts
Serious question here Andy - is this your first plug change? Go outside, open the hood (or bonnet if you prefer), remove the engine cover and take a look at what you have there - can you even see the plugs? Sometimes you're going to have to figure things out for yourself - youtube and the internet are not going to be there every time you need them, and they are both frequently incorrect & misleading - remember - you don't know me, you have no idea of my background, you don't know if I've ever even seen a 2012 Suzuki GV, you don't know if I have the slightest clue about motor vehicles - and this is true for every stranger with a keyboard.

Yes, you're going to need an extension, at least a six inch, you're also going to need a thin wall spark plug socket, most likely a 16mm, my preference is a magnetic socket, rather than the ones with the rubber inserts - the inserts will sometimes stay on the plug rather than stay in the socket.

You're going to need, I believe a 10mm socket to unbolt the coil packs - twist them before & whilst pulling upwards, the rubber boots have a way of bonding with the porcelain on the plugs and the twisting action helps break the bond - I like to use a light smear of dielectric grease on the plugs and the inside of the boots to reduce the possibility of tearing the boot. It may help to disconnect the wiring harness from the plug - the connector has a latch or lock that needs to be depressed.