Suzuki Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wifes car has had this problem for 2 years since we bought it. Its an 07 GV, with a 2in rocky road lift and 30in tires on it. I add this simply because the lift and tires made no difference with the problem at hand. Im a mechanic and fabricator by trade for the last 7 years and know my way around a car fairly damn well. Ive been chasing a vibration in the car for quite some time.

It sounds like its coming from the entire car but predominately the front. I refused to throw parts at the car and insisted to my wife that the problem would rear its head and become obvious before anything full broke, yet the car has gotten loud on the highway to the point where its ridiculous. So after reading through TSBs and having 80k miles on the car I decided a front wheel bearing change was in order as a starting point despite finding no play. As I anticipated nothing changed.

Vibration starts as low as 25mph and gets louder as you go faster. It never gets violent like something is out of round or out of balance. Ive driven my fair share of lifted vehicles over the years and am pretty familiar with what a bad u joint vibe feels like. This is much more subtle in the vibration department but the noise is loud. When we bought the car I just figured being a cheaper end model for the class of vehicle it is it was just poor insulation and excess standard road noise, but its like the tire is next to your head now. Its not unbearably loud but the radio is definitely up and you need to talk loudly.

Ive found one case on here and the net where a rear differential was changed and solved the problem. I also couldnt help but see the similarity that my wifes truck with a fresh alignment on it will drift left if you let go of the wheel on dead flat roads. I know its properly aligned as the shop I took it to prides themselves on their work and are very good.