Suzuki Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I first got my 1996 Geo Tracker (in 2004) it had a/c that worked AND over time, one day, the a/c stopped working. I think the seals were rotted or one of the lines at the compressor blew off. I can't remember which one happened. Either way, I'm thinking about repairing it so I can drive it more and keep the miles off my 2002 Chevy Impala. As a social worker, I drive a lot for work and transport clients, so 95F with mentally ill clients in the car is a no-go.

What I DO remember is, that when it worked, it blew cold, but man it had no acceleration or power at all to it. I mean, this thing was sluggish. It's a 1.6L 5spd manual and right now it runs great.

Is this normal for others out there to see such a reduction in power with a/c on? I routinely drive my Tracker on the highway somewhere between 65-70mph. Obviously, this would put it at higher RPMs because it's in 5th gear. Could driving it that fast with the A/C on cause problems for the compressor?

Compressor seems fine on inspection. I do plan to replace all the seals and gaskets first and maybe the drier then shoot some freon in it and see what happens. I did search the forums before asking, but couldn't find an answer.

·
Super Moderator
19,083 Posts
A compressor load WILL consume a noticeable amount of power from the engine. I don't feel that much of a drag with a 2.5 V-6 though. A 1.6 would be more susceptible to the drag. Speed won't add any appreciable difference though and not hurt the compressor.

Make sure that you evacuate the freon system (apply a vacuum) and then charge it to spec. Too much or too little freon will dramatically affect operation. :)

Good luck with it!

·
Super Moderator
25,542 Posts