Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, Noob here!
Just got a really good deal on a 88 Sami, but can't get it to go into 4-lo. When I try pushing down to 4-Lo, I start to hear grinding of gears, so I do not proceed. Virtually no rust at all an the truck and it drives well otherwise. (except the slack in the tranny shifter which I hope to remedy with the new bushing)
Question: Could this be a T-case shifter seat problem?

Thanks for all of your replies in advance.

This looks like the place to be!

·
Registered
686 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
How does the shift sheet look (that bushing)? Its easy to get to from inside the cab

Does your shifter knob have the shift gate on it? Its a strange shift gate, most unlike a traditional truck. When I first got mine it was quite a struggle until I saw a knob with the shift gate and realized how it was

Yes, caseyjones955, it looks exactly like that one. I try putting the trans in neutral with the clutch in, and moving the lever in the direction of the pattern.

I haven't had time time to pull the boot and shift out yet, but I do have the complete kit coming from 4X4 LowRange (transfer seat(sheet) and shifter bushing.

I'm hoping that's all it is. Since I work 12 hour shifts at the hospital, I thought I would wait until the kit comes in and do them both on my day off.

Could it be something else?

ALSO, I just remembered: There is a shudder or vibration after shifting and running through 2nd gear. But not 1st, 3rd, 4th or 5th???.... U-joint?
Thanks for the suggestions! Any others?

·
Registered
686 Posts
Once you get the Tcase shifting and hitting 4L it would be interesting to see if your 2nd gear vibration is more parallel to your road speed or specifically 2nd gear.

I assume it still has the Samurai axles... Is it lifted? What suspension mods?

Tony

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #6