Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

Ok so I've been driving since August, I'm a new ish driver and whilst I know some basics of cars and their maintenance, I thought I would ask for more experiences from SX-4 owners who know what they are talking about. Plus I don't feel as stupid as asking my friend's on facebook....

So, I own a 2010 SX4 SZ-L trim model. It's a 1.6L petrol, Naturally Aspirated engine and the car has done just over 31K miles since new.

I'll Number the questions/points I want to raise so you guys can quote a bit easier etc.

1) My car is a 1.6L engine, I assume from 2010 as that was the year it was registered. with that in mind, I take it it's around 120hp? on paper?

2) I'm the third owner on this vehicle, and I believe it still has the original clutch, timing belt/chain (is it a chain?), and all that stuff. At what mileage do these things typically need to be replaced on an SX-4?

3) is there anything I can do maintenance wise, other than sending it to a garage each year, to keep this car in top condition?

4) the stupid part. Mods. What mods could I do that are affordable but just provide a little extra performance? Main thing is the car is gutsy, but the true power of the engine is only really utilised from mid range and higher in the revs.

5) exhausts.... Now, I don't plan on getting rid of the car anytime soon. would I benefit from having a stainless steel exhaust system fitted to the car? there two roads I can go with this. Either a completely custom design, or I can have a stainless sytem made to OEM specs, either way it'll last the life of the car. Second to this, would either setup have an impact on the performance?

bear in mind I'm in the uk, and it does seem that most of the SX4 supplies and stuff like that are more US based. So this might have a bearing on any responses you guys have for me.

Many thanks in advance!

·
Registered
838 Posts