Suzuki Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey team, Newbie here.

The Mrs has a ZC31S and it seems to be chewing through strut top mounts...

We got the car maybe 4-5 months ago. Noticed a knocking noise coming form the front suspension about a month ago, turns out it was the strut top mounts so had them replaced and was fine. Just noticed the other day it sounds like the knocking noise is coming back and I refuse to believe its chewed through another pair of top mounts so soon.

Is this a common issue? I can't find much on the interballs at all so makes me think it's not so common.

Don't really want to be replacing top mounts every month or two.

Any ideas?

Will be getting the car up on jack stands to give it a proper look at some point.

Cheers

·
Registered
RS413, 2007, Magyar, M/T
12 Posts
Hey! It's been a while, but did you ever get this resolved?

I own a rs413 2007 and mine keeps going through top mounts on the right side only.

I've already replaced it twice and and now it's starting to get loose again. The first mount lasted about seven years with MANY MANY miles then any replacement lasted about 2 years with not nearly enough miles.

But what trips me up is it's always the right mount, but when replaced the left and right don't seem that different in wear.

I'm considering replacing the top cap to check if it's warped (as the top cap and the top mount sandwich the chassis between them) but I'm not sure it will tell me much.

However: mine makes no noise whatsoever while driving. I only notice it during routine maintenance by jiggling the wheel and strut up and down. It's not noticeable when the car is on the ground.

·
Super Moderator
15,721 Posts