Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello ladies and gentlemen. I have been driving a 2005 Ignis x45 for a few years now. I have always observed that the car is very uncomfortable over rough roads because the original suspension is too hard. Recently, I discovered my car is fitted with a sport suspension in front and this might be a reason for the harsh ride. Can I replace it with regular front struts without affecting the ride height? And where can I get the front struts to buy at a reasonable price? Please your recommendations are welcome.

·
Registered
865 Posts

·
Registered
484 Posts
Isn't the ride height determined by the springs not the struts?

Or am I misinterpreting what you're saying here?

(I don't know the answer by the way)

·
Registered
99 Tracker, 5 door, 2L, 4x4
9,978 Posts
The strut is comprised of the shock and spring combination... yes the ride height is dictated by the spring height, but if the spring is extended the need for a longer shock is evident..

The shock is what determines the amount of give, so a calmer shock would give a softer ride... and possibly mushy wobble...

·
Registered
865 Posts
The springs absorb the compression shock and the Shock Absorbers reduce the spring bounce speed (decompression). The springs the OP wants will be softer and will determine the ride height.

·
Registered
7,327 Posts
The springs absorb the compression shock and the Shock Absorbers reduce the spring bounce speed (decompression). The springs the OP wants will be softer and will determine the ride height.
No, not quite right. The springs will have a faster compression rate (faster to compress) but should not affect the ride height as they should be sized to give same ride height.