Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

I own a 2003 Aerio (hatchback, two wheel drive) and would like to replace the serpentine belt as this has never been done for the car. No problems with it, but I would like to do this before a problem does develop! It has about 164,000kms.

I am not a mechanic at all. The only thing I know how to do is change the oil. So my (naive) questions are...

-Can I use any serpentine belt or is there a specific type I will need to get? If so, where does one get this type of belt?
-How hard is it to do this yourself?? I don't have a garage or anything, though might be able to take it over to my dad's garage and borrow his tools.
-Should I just not attempt it, and take it to a mechanic instead?

I'm on a tight budget so can't afford expensive mechanic bills. So doing it myself would be good... but only if it's something that I can actually do without totally messing up the car...

Thoughts? :)

·
Registered
99 Tracker, 5 door, 2L, 4x4
9,983 Posts
Recommend you get a "Gator" belt, and any idiot can change the belt, just follow the routing..

... Philip

·
Registered
154 Posts
The tricky part is taking the tension off the belt tensioner while attaching the belt. If you have never done this before I recommend having someone assist you (one pulling the belt tensioner while the other slips the belt over the last pulley.

As Philip said, make sure you route the new belt on correctly, it may help to slip the new belt over each pulley as you take the old one off.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Liana m16a pulley and belt problem