Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, either my google-foo sucks big time this week or I just have a different question than most. I don't post much thanks to the fact that most of my questions do get answered here, and people generally have already answered with what I know, and I don't like to be a "Me too, Herc!" type. :)

I've been driving my '03 Aerio SX for nearly 8 yrs (will be at the end of Dec.) now, and I'm just about to tick over 239 000 KM (148 500 miles give or take). It's stock, the only things I've ever made mods to are the fixes for my door handles when they broke, the stupid fabric strings for the privacy shield, and replacing my stereo with a nice Sony that I got at BestBuy at a really decent deal. Over all, I treat the car as just that, a car. I don't neglect the maintenance, but I don't go nuts and change anything unless it needs it. (I'm still on original shocks, and yah, they're getting tired, but not enough to warrant replacing, and I drive on Ontario and Quebec provincial roads) :cool:

The most annoying thing I find is that I have to keep replacing the bloody alternator every 80K to 88K. At the, I think, criminal price of over $700 for the Suzuki part this gets a bit harsh to swallow. I've had various, including a Suzuki dealer, garages all try to put the $300 or less after market ones in with zero success. They just don't charge the battery. (which is currently my 3rd one, and it's a solid Interstate that probably should be dead by now but keeps rising to the challenge)

Since the bulk of my driving is in rush hour, highway speed traffic, suddently loosing power is not an option, and is down right scary.

I've poked and poked around, and all I can find is mention of the Denso part number 31400-59J00.