Suzuki Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got trapped in a flash flood the other night, crossed a few areas of running water 1 foot deep with no trouble. When I went through the 4th area my engine suddenly quit. I got out and the water was about 2 inches below the door. I pushed the car back about 30ft to get it to higher ground. Checked the air cleaner and it was bone dry, top of engine never got wet, distributor and all was dry. The car will crank but not start. The 3 or 4 big fuses in the engine bay look fine.

Also, when it first died I pressed the hazard switch on top of the steering column. Smoke start rising from the switch so I turned it back off. I discovered that the 15A fuse for the Engine light and other dash lights is blown. It blows a new fuse as soon as the ignition is turned on. I'm not sure if this is related or is a separate problem as I've never used the hazard before.

The car has been sitting for 2 days and should be pretty dry now but still will not fire. I have not tried to replace the 15A fuse again yet, not sure if that would keep the car from starting. Where should I look next to troubleshoot this? Thanks.

·
Administrator
18,333 Posts
Which 15A fuse, for which engine light and which other dash lights? There is no fuse specific to dash lights, unless you're referring to the gauge lighting and that fuse also powers the park lights.
Be specific - if it's related to the ignition or fuel injection system (which I suspect it is) the car won't run without it - it's also unlikely that any amount of "drying out" will solve the issue.

The hazard lights are not fed via the ignition switch so the two symptoms are unrelated.

If the fuse blows again, try unplugging the alternator connector and then replacing the fuse again - a foot of water is not a significant amount, but if you splash enough it can get onto drive belts and that throws it around quite a bit.

·
Premium Member
89 Posts