Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well my grandma is giving me a 1987 Samurai Tin-top. I dont know anything about it besides the year and model lol. She lives in Kentucky and im in Arknsas. im 17 and this will be my first car. Im more of a sport/tuner kinda person but i think the off-road/mudding scene will be fun. I can get more info next time she calls. one thing i do know is that it hasnt been started in 2-3 years. shes getting the legal work done so it can be put in my dads name until im 18. i was wondering what to expect from a truck/car like the Sammy. Im wanting to get a small shackle lift for now, maybe some bigger tires, and a roll cage for sure (safety). i was wondering if anyone could get me links to some inexpensive upgrades and add-ons i can do. also if someone can link to me a decent but fairly cheap link to a roll cage or the dimensions so i can make one myself since im a fairly good welder. also what engine upgrades i can do later in the future when it turns into my toy. If anyone can help id greatelly appreciate it. and sorry it was a long write up.

·
Registered
278 Posts
First off, If it's been siting for a while, drain ALL TH FLUIDS. Gas as well.
Do a full tune up. New fuel filter. And it may run all right.
The stock Hitachi carb hates to be left unused so it will more than likely give you problems. Swap in a Toyota Carola 1200 carb. Under $100.
If your going to do a shackle lift, don't go over 2"
Even a 2" lift is going to require new shocks, brake lines, caster wedges, ETC.
Larger tires require lower gears....
There are NO SHORT CUTS TO THIS GAME.
Lots of great advice available on all aspects of Zuke building on this site and other zuke sites.
Take advantage of them.
And don't be in a hurry. Do your research before you Change a thing.
Map out your build on paper first. Set a budget. Save your money. Buy ALL the parts required to build it correctly. Then start your build.