Suzuki Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought a 1987 samurai with the 1.3. Will idle smooth as can be but when I go to throttle up it dies unless I let off... I'm new to the samurai however if I get this fixed I think I will love it! Any info is appreciated!

·
Registered
137 Posts
hello take a look on your fuel filter if its look dark replace its only $6.00 and easy to do ,and check if you have any vacuums hose lose ,this carburetor are very sensible to lose hose
good day

·
Registered
28 Posts
What carb do you have fitted? The original carbs have issues when they get old and can cause problems similar to this.

Mine would die if I tried to accelerate - but I had a snorkel, and I found that if I leaned out of the window and put my hand over the air intake and manaully choked it, it'd run ok (I was in a field at the time).

Eventually replaced the carb and it ran just lovely.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well I ran new fuel line and filter, ran great the last 3 weeks, now its doing it again. I did loose the washer that goes underneath the nut on the air cleaner.. Will this cause any issues?

·
Registered
686 Posts
If a new filter and line cleared up the symptoms for 3 weeks and the same symptoms are returning I would suggest that the tank is possibly full of junk and the filter is again clogged. It's worth checking and never a bad idea to have a couple spares onboard anyway.

I have on more than one occasion had to go this route for older vehicles.

Tony

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Well I did put another filter in it...and still did it... But when I took filter off I heard a big gulp of air in the tank?

·
Registered
137 Posts