Speedometer Cable - Suzuki Forums: Suzuki Forum Site
Suzuki Forum Suzuki Forums

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Ľ Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Suzuki Forums: Suzuki Forum Site > Suzuki Models > Suzuki Jimny, Sierra & Samurai Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto LoansInsurance Advertise

Suzuki-Forums.com is the premier Suzuki All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2008, 07:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Gallery: 0
SuzieSJ413 is on a distinguished road
Question Speedometer Cable

Hey Guys,
My speedometer in my Suzuki Sierra SJ413 1.3 recently decided to break. I have purchased the speedo cable, but unfortunately i have never done anything like this before . Could anyone give me a detailed description of what to do, or even a link which gives me a guide which i could follow.

Thanks
SuzieSJ413 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2008, 02:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newbie
 
chelerizr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 16
Gallery: 0
chelerizr is on a distinguished road
Cool speedometer cable

ok this is it first you have to remove your dashboard mine for example has four screws in the front panel so it's easy to remove when done you'll find rigth behind the speedometer the plug. dissconect it and follow it trough your cockpit it goes from the dashboard all the way down the corner of the driverside just below the driver seat it goes out of the cockpit and goes below the chassis it continues on to the gearbox there you'll find the second plug thas is attached to the gearbox with another screw unplug it and then replace with the new one starting from the gearbox (don't forget to secure it again or it will get loose due to reving) and make it trough the way you just followed plug it again to the dash and replace the dash into position and you are done. In my case I needed to remove my steering wheel in order to remove the dashboard I'll try to post some photos so you can identify parts

Last edited by chelerizr; 09-08-2008 at 12:07 AM.
chelerizr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-07-2008, 02:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: floridA
Posts: 13
Gallery: 0
captain47 is on a distinguished road
Default

you may have to remove the steering wheel. I had to replace mine at 120K and was real careful prying the dask console instead of removing the steering wheel. Ken
captain47 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-15-2010, 11:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Texas
Posts: 66
Gallery: 0
Beerman is on a distinguished road
Default Cable Lube Question

I replaced the speedo cable on our 87 last month. Beforehand I removed the new cable and lubed it as I slid it in the sleeve with the supplied tube of grease.

It works but the speedometer needle pulses under 40 and I hear the cable clicking inside the dash. Could I have over-lubricated? Of course itís cold here.

Donít know to wait for warm weather to see it the grease flows or disconnect at transfer case and pull the cableÖ

Thanks, Ken T.
Beerman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2010, 02:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,862
Gallery: 2
Billjohn is on a distinguished road
Default

You don't have to pull out the whole dash... don't let them scare you.
You only have to pull the gauge cluster out enough to get to the cable. You can reach up behind the cluster to disconnect it before pulling the cluster. It helps to remove the two retaining bolts that hold the steering column to the dash and let it drop to the seat. This lets the cluster come out easier.
Billjohn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2010, 12:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Texas
Posts: 66
Gallery: 0
Beerman is on a distinguished road
Default

Oh yes, I did it without dropping the steering column. But the new cable is making noise. As the inside flex cable installs from the case end, I was just going to leave the outside cable attached to speedometer and pull out inside from under the vehicle, wipe it down to be sure grease is evenly distributed

Last edited by Beerman; 02-16-2010 at 02:26 PM. Reason: spelling
Beerman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2010, 11:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,230
Gallery: 0
Baratacus is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billjohn View Post
You don't have to pull out the whole dash... don't let them scare you.
You only have to pull the gauge cluster out enough to get to the cable. You can reach up behind the cluster to disconnect it before pulling the cluster. It helps to remove the two retaining bolts that hold the steering column to the dash and let it drop to the seat. This lets the cluster come out easier.
or you can snap off the emergency flasher switch.... dang... I wish I had thought to drop my steering column when I pulled my dash last summer.

Beerman, I don't have a cable in front of me right now, but I think it may be difficult to pull the end of it through and then stuff it back in and have it line up with the speedo. .... maybe you can. I had a dificult enough time re-stuffing a choke cable that I pulled out of it's sleeve, and that was with it completely removed. Don't pull it out too far without checking to see if you can stick it back in easily.
Baratacus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2010, 05:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 55
Gallery: 0
chevy4x48586 is on a distinguished road
Default

i dont know about anyone else but i didnt pull anything it took me a total of about 10-15 min to change. All i did was reach behind and unhook it and plug the new one in. Mine also clicks and pulses at low speeds, but it works so whatever
chevy4x48586 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2010, 07:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newbie
 
worrkshop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Central Massachusetts
Posts: 6
Gallery: 7
worrkshop is on a distinguished road
Exclamation O.K. My Spedometer Cable is Stuck

I broke my spedometer cable going through the woods, I guess a branch snagged it. So the problem is that it broke right at the t case and I can't get it out!! Of course I took the retainer bolt out and sprayed the hell out of the insert but it don't budge. Should I heat it? Maybe sink a screw into it on the side to hopefully work it out? I dunno Whattsup what would you do!!
worrkshop is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Suzuki Forums: Suzuki Forum Site > Suzuki Models > Suzuki Jimny, Sierra & Samurai Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Suzuki Forums: Suzuki Forum Site forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.