cruise for forenza/Reno - Suzuki Forums: Suzuki Forum Site
Suzuki Forum Suzuki Forums

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Suzuki Forums: Suzuki Forum Site > Suzuki Models > Suzuki Forenza & Reno Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto LoansInsurance Advertise

Suzuki-Forums.com is the premier Suzuki All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2006, 06:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior
 
mydogsaysplease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: tempe
Posts: 341
Gallery: 0
mydogsaysplease is an unknown quantity at this point
Default cruise for forenza/Reno

The Cruise Control Store

I have ordered and received a cruise control from these guys 212 after tax shipping
delivered on time and as stated

instructions are detailed enough to get started. I suggest read until you get your mind around what they are instructing
took 5 min to figure out that the pin I was looking for was already attached to grey wire and only by close exam of photo did I unwind wire to find my pin

will post further on install adventure

props to no1spaceman and crazcfox
__________________
It could be that the purpose of your life is only to serve as a warning to others. [IMG]http://us.st1.yimg.com/store1.yimg.com/Img/trans_1x1.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://us.st1.yimg.com/store1.yimg.com/Img/trans_1x1.gif[/IMG]

Last edited by mydogsaysplease; 07-15-2006 at 06:05 PM.
mydogsaysplease is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2006, 05:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior
 
mydogsaysplease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: tempe
Posts: 341
Gallery: 0
mydogsaysplease is an unknown quantity at this point
Default how come instalation instructions always miss something

the instruction need a parts list,and pin out chart
have to call tech supp to figure out if pin 45 is where I think
and where they are intending another wire to go because pictured is to sunroof not ignition as they say I know this wire needs ignition but not sure why it has to be through fuse box since seperate fuse is installed and will blow first. so ........
when all installed I have pics and will show how to install with less " what are they trying to show" and " attach to where?! that cant be right!"
__________________
It could be that the purpose of your life is only to serve as a warning to others. [IMG]http://us.st1.yimg.com/store1.yimg.com/Img/trans_1x1.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://us.st1.yimg.com/store1.yimg.com/Img/trans_1x1.gif[/IMG]
mydogsaysplease is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2006, 01:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior
 
mydogsaysplease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: tempe
Posts: 341
Gallery: 0
mydogsaysplease is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

ok now i got it 48 is labeled on the left and visible up close
count three down and should be open spot next to blue wire
this is like the second or middle row wire sequence to look for green yellow purple open blue.
be very very careful with the grey pin wire fragile. but can be replaced with Molex WMLX-214 KK standard crimp terminals

any 12v source is ok for the other wire by the backside of fuse box but at this point I think that it may be where my problem is. I have checked and rechecked connections several times so much that I could do another in an hour but mine does not do any thing so I am not so sure that means much.

I wonder if anyone could verify whether the ecm needs to get code to recognise new cruise company says they don't think so but i see that gm cars do. and I also see Delphi stuff all over the guts of the electronics.

tomorrow I will verify that all fuses are intact maybe even use a different 12v source after that I dont know where to go

went to my deisel mechanics and they are now unable to even do work on the side someone was doing it on site and in the bays ruined it damn there goes cheap reliable work cheap as in cheaper than a shop but still they made money and we would get our car done at the end of the shift.
went to my mechanic and since car is so new they dont have the software. was told only the dealer would be able to help.
went to dealer and was told a very long answer of why they cant even get into that mode to get the car to recognise it
at this point I called the cruise control store and asked if it needed to be coded. tech guy was gone but was told that it shouldnt need to.

so what to do ask the brilliant minds and hope I missed something or theres a way to troubleshoot it because after checking connections and voltages I dont know what else or how else to check this and no one seems to understand the car even though just like all technology once you understand the fundementals its all about the same
__________________
It could be that the purpose of your life is only to serve as a warning to others. [IMG]http://us.st1.yimg.com/store1.yimg.com/Img/trans_1x1.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://us.st1.yimg.com/store1.yimg.com/Img/trans_1x1.gif[/IMG]
mydogsaysplease is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-25-2006, 04:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior
 
mydogsaysplease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: tempe
Posts: 341
Gallery: 0
mydogsaysplease is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

ok all connections have been vom tested so now to call the cruise store
__________________
It could be that the purpose of your life is only to serve as a warning to others. [IMG]http://us.st1.yimg.com/store1.yimg.com/Img/trans_1x1.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://us.st1.yimg.com/store1.yimg.com/Img/trans_1x1.gif[/IMG]
mydogsaysplease is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2006, 07:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior
 
mydogsaysplease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: tempe
Posts: 341
Gallery: 0
mydogsaysplease is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

2006 Forenza/ Reno cruise install
The Cruise Control Store



  1. Disconnect + positive line on battery (10mm)
  2. Loosen hose clamps holding intake assembly. Lift assembly out of the way. Locate ECM plug.
    While pushing a tab on the left of the plug pull lever towards front of vehicle. This releases the plug. Remove the cover off the plug (2 tabs on right and 1 tab on left). Locate pin 45 (48 is marked) wires are as follows green yellow purple 45 blue. Insert pin on grey wire all the way into 45. Make certain it is seated properly when reinstalling plug. Route wire through firewall on drivers side. Reconnect ECM and intake assembly.
  3. Reconnect battery.
  4. Carefully remove plastic knee panel (Contains 4 clips ). remove 4 bolts and the metal knee panel. ( 12mm bolts). Connect newly routed grey ecm wire to green module wire.
  5. Locate accessory plug at the base of steering column. Connect the modules white wire to the green/white wire on the accessory plug.
  6. Locate a 12 volt source at rear of fuse panel. (verify with volt meter). Also verify volts when keys in the 2 on positions and with the accessory that has been tapped both on and off. Do not use if dips below 12v. Must be at 12volts while in use. HVAC for example dips when running fan for AC/HEAT or just the blower.
  7. Connect one end of fuse holder 12v source and the other end to modules brown wire. Insert fuse provided.
  8. Turn off ignition. Plug in main module to sender module and secure under dash with zip ties. Connect black wire to a grounded metal bolt during knee panel reassembly.
  9. Steel switch bracket must be installed at 6 o'clock position. Easiest to turn wheel 180 degrees to access the space between horn pad and hard plastic column cover. Slide bracket in and then slide switch onto bracket.

  • Ensure continuity of all connections.
  • Do not remove or insert plug for ecm without disconnecting the battery. This is the computer module very expensive if you fry it.
  • Use a grounding wrist strap to avoid static charge frying any components.
  • Verify 12 volts all (on) key positions with all accessories on and off.
  • Module will send approx 5-7 volts to ECM
  • check for current on green/white connections
  • make 100% certain that pin 45 is seated
  • if connections are good and still unable to operate. Try changing to 18 gauge wire to the ecm. ATX female pins found at electronics suppliers will work as a pin replacement when switching to larger gauge.
__________________
It could be that the purpose of your life is only to serve as a warning to others. [IMG]http://us.st1.yimg.com/store1.yimg.com/Img/trans_1x1.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://us.st1.yimg.com/store1.yimg.com/Img/trans_1x1.gif[/IMG]
mydogsaysplease is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2006, 08:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior
 
mydogsaysplease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: tempe
Posts: 341
Gallery: 0
mydogsaysplease is an unknown quantity at this point
Default kudos

ok I know it was a long time but only on my part these guys are great in response and tech support but Im not up at those hours often and working in the latter part of the afternoon
they sent a new kit in days after calling and giving volts at each point but same problem. I eventually replaced thin ecm wire with 18 gauge and viola it worked.

so pin 45 is a pain yes and I fixed that uncertainty by fashioning a longer stronger one out of atx female crimps (not for the impatient) but they go in and scrape comming out (easy in effort out) and I made it longer by cutting one in half and matting to the other. I think the original was undersized and loose fitting. also the wire was like 20 or 22 gauge very thin

I replaced fuse holder with a 16g one still only using "3" fuse so inspite of some over kill there it will pop after a number higher than 3 so... I am still safe. wanted to ground it with 16 but once I got it working I was like yea right dont fix it if it aint broke
__________________
It could be that the purpose of your life is only to serve as a warning to others. [IMG]http://us.st1.yimg.com/store1.yimg.com/Img/trans_1x1.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://us.st1.yimg.com/store1.yimg.com/Img/trans_1x1.gif[/IMG]
mydogsaysplease is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2006, 10:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newbie
 
thirstyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Orange County New York (as in the choppers) The REAL O.C.!!
Posts: 14
Gallery: 0
thirstyk is on a distinguished road
Default

I never trust aftermarket cruise control. I got factory in mine.
__________________
KT

[IMG]http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h32/thirstyk/CopyofDSC00866.jpg[/IMG]
thirstyk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2006, 07:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newbie
 
CREWZIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lecanto, Florida
Posts: 11
Gallery: 0
CREWZIN is on a distinguished road
Default

Just bought the Forenza Wagon for my wife. Didn't come with power locks or cruise. Had an aftermarket company add both, and they work great.

__________________
...just CREWZIN along
CREWZIN is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2006, 12:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior
 
zerocool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Laguna Hills, Ca
Posts: 265
Gallery: 0
zerocool is on a distinguished road
Default

i dont understand y u would ever need cruise control
__________________
My friends cars: 1000cc GSXR!!!! OMFG I WANT!!!! RSX type-s, 1.8 turbo jetta, 350z track edition(HIGHLY MODIFIED), 350z street edition, EVO-8, 3- series BMW... and then there is my.... forenza... i hate being poor........
zerocool is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2006, 12:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Veteran
 
kinkyllama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Posts: 3,805
Gallery: 0
kinkyllama is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerocool
i dont understand y u would ever need cruise control
I use it nearly all the time on cars that have it to keep me steady and from speeding.
__________________
[size=2][b][url=http://autoinsurances.wearecares.net]Best Auto Insurance[/url] | [url=autoprotection.wearecares.net]Auto Protection Today[/url] | [url=trade-in.wearecares.net]FREE Trade-In Quote[/url][/b][/size]
kinkyllama is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Suzuki Forums: Suzuki Forum Site > Suzuki Models > Suzuki Forenza & Reno Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Suzuki Forums: Suzuki Forum Site forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.